UAE, 8 Arab countries condemn violations in Gaza


The UAE and eight other Arab countries have issued a joint statement condemning the targeting of civilians and violations of international law in Gaza.

The statement was issued by the foreign ministers of the UAE, Jordan, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, Egypt and Morocco, following the Cairo Peace Summit.

They said the right to self-defence did not justify breaking the law and neglecting Palestinians' rights.

The Arab ministers also condemned forced displacement and collective punishment of people in Gaza, and called on the UN Security Council to push for an immediate and sustainable ceasefire.

They underscored the urgency of observing the protocols of the 1949 Geneva Conventions, including the laws of armed conflict and International Humanitarian Law, which also applies to the release of hostages and civilian detainees in a safe and humane way.

The ministers emphasised the need for a two-state solution, ensuring the establishment of an independent, sovereign and viable Palestinian state on the pre-June 4, 1967 lines, with East Jerusalem as its capital.

More from Local

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • Extra Time

    7:00pm - 10:00pm

    Chris & Robbie bring you the latest from the sporting world plus interviews with upcoming and legendary sporting stars.

  • Nights on Dubai Eye 103.8

    10:00pm - 11:00pm

    Dubai Eye complements the conversation with the music you love from the eighties, nineties and newer.


On Dubai Eye

  • Flying Taxis

    It sounds like an episode of The Jetsons, but the sight of flying taxis whizzing around our cities could be much closer than you think.

  • Tough penalties for deliberate tax evasion

    The UAE has said that tougher penalties will come into force from 1st August for not keeping proper corporate tax records.