UK: only two airports can receive flights from 'red list' countries


England has assigned dedicated airport terminals to receive flights from ‘red list’ countries, including the UAE.

As per the latest travel advice on a UK government website, the directive states effective from June 8, direct flights will need to land at terminals located at Heathrow and Birmingham airports. 

It also states that different requirements may apply for arrivals into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. 

Previous guidelines still apply, anyone who has been in a country or territory on the UK’s ‘red list’ in the last 10 days will only be allowed to enter if they are a British or Irish National, or have residence rights in the country. 

They must then quarantine in a government-sanctioned hotel for a minimum of 10 days at their own expense, as well as take two Covid-19 PCR tests.

The UK recently announced changes to their travel traffic light system, adding seven countries to the ‘red list’, Bahrain, Afghanistan, Costa Rica, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Sudan and Trinidad & Tobago. Portugal will be downgraded from green to amber on the list.

Passengers arriving in the UK from 'amber' countries can quarantine at home or in the place they are staying (for 10 days), rather than in a government-sanctioned hotel.

All changes to the lists will come into effect on June 8 (at 0300 GMT).

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Business Breakfast

    6:00am - 11:00am

    The Business Breakfast is the day’s must listen for the UAE’s business leaders, and those who aspire to be.

  • Lunch with Lloyd

    11:00am - 2:00pm

    No one knows entertainment better than veteran Dubai broadcaster Mark Lloyd.

On Dubai Eye

  • Helen's Postpartum Struggles

    Every weekday afternoon, Helen Farmer will help you to navigate the highs and lows of life in the UAE.


    Farmer's Kitchen is back for 2021!
    With our partners Spinneys, we are going to help you wave goodbye to boring dinners, cluttered fridges, and lumpy leftovers!