Trump expands US travel ban to 6 more countries


The Trump administration's controversial travel ban has now been expanded to include Nigeria and five other countries.

Starting February 21, immigration restrictions will be imposed on Eritrea, Tanzania, Sudan, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar, with US officials explaining that they failed to meet security standards.

Belarus, which had been under consideration for inclusion, did not make it to the list as it took steps to remedy deficiencies in recent months.

Temporary visas for tourists, business people, students and workers from those nations will remain unaffected.

The US will also stop issuing "diversity visas" to nationals of Sudan and Tanzania.

Critics had earlier criticised US President Donald Trump's 2017 travel ban on Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuela as discriminatory. 

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Weekend Playlist

    8:00pm - 11:00pm

    Every Friday night Dubai Eye 103.8 plays you the greatest party classics and anthems all the way till Saturday morning!

  • Nights on Dubai Eye 103.8

    11:00pm - 6:00am

    Dubai Eye complements the conversation with the music you love from the eighties, nineties and newer.

On Dubai Eye

Business Breakfast