Saudi Arabia lifts ban on arrivals from 11 countries, including UAE


Saudi Arabia will allow visitors from 11 countries, including the UAE starting Sunday.

That's according to a statement on state news agency SPA which quotes an official source at the Ministry of Interior.

Arrivals coming from the United Arab Emirates, Germany, the United States of America, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Switzerland, France, and Japan will be allowed to enter the Kingdom from 1 A.M. on Sunday, May 30.

Travellers from these countries will however have to comply with institutional quarantine guidelines. 

All international passengers arriving in Saudi Arabia must undergo seven days of institutional quarantine at their own expense.

They are also required to take a PCR test on the seventh day of arrival, and if the result is negative, they are permitted to leave quarantine the next day.

The decision is based on the country's  Public Health Authority's report regarding the epidemiological situation in these countries, which shows stability and effectiveness in controlling the pandemic.

The country had suspended travel for all non-citizens, diplomats, health practitioners and their families coming from 20  countries to the Kingdom since February.

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Business Breakfast

    6:00am - 11:00am

    The Business Breakfast is the day’s must listen for the UAE’s business leaders, and those who aspire to be.

  • Lunch with Lloyd

    11:00am - 2:00pm

    No one knows entertainment better than veteran Dubai broadcaster Mark Lloyd.

On Dubai Eye

  • Helen's Postpartum Struggles

    Every weekday afternoon, Helen Farmer will help you to navigate the highs and lows of life in the UAE.


    Farmer's Kitchen is back for 2021!
    With our partners Spinneys, we are going to help you wave goodbye to boring dinners, cluttered fridges, and lumpy leftovers!