Lewandowski wins UEFA Player of the Year award


Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has won the UEFA men's Player of the Year award ahead of Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne and Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer.

The Polish forward scored 15 goals on the way to Bayern's sixth Champions League title, hitting the target in every match before the final except a group game against Tottenham Hotspur when he was rested.

He also fired 34 goals in 31 Bundesliga matches and six in five German Cup games, helping Bayern win both competitions.

The German champions' manager Hansi Flick won UEFA's coach of the year award.

Pernille Harder, who played for German club Wolfsburg last season and is now with Chelsea, won the Women’s Player of the Year award for the second time.

More from Sports

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Business Breakfast

    6:00am - 11:00am

    The Business Breakfast is the day’s must listen for the UAE’s business leaders, and those who aspire to be.

  • Lunch with Lloyd

    11:00am - 2:00pm

    No one knows entertainment better than veteran Dubai broadcaster Mark Lloyd.


On Dubai Eye