IPL confirms UAE dates and new women's challenge

@IPL/ Twitter

The Indian Premier League (IPL) will be held in the UAE from September 19 to November 10.

The tournament's Governing Council confirmed the matches will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi, subject to necessary clearances from the Indian government.

There will be 53 games in total, with the afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST (14:00 UAE time) and the evening matches at 19:30 IST (18:00 UAE time).

There will also be a Women's T20 Challenge this time, comprising three teams with four matches to be played during the IPL play-off week.

The UAE has previously hosted IPL games in 2014 when roughly half the season was moved to the country due to the Indian elections.

More from Sports

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • Off Script with Chris, Robbie & Sonal

    5:00pm - 7:00pm

    The UAE’s alternative take on news, entertainment and sport. Join Chris, Robbie and Sonal as they cut through the clutter to bring you the news, entertainment and sport stories that actually matter.

  • Extra Time

    7:00pm - 8:00pm

    Chris & Robbie bring you the latest from the sporting world plus interviews with upcoming and legendary sporting stars.

On Dubai Eye

Business Breakfast