Saudi Arabia suspends entry from 20 nations, including UAE

File picture

Saudi Arabia is suspending entry into the Kingdom from 20 countries, including the UAE, from 8:00 pm on Wednesday.

The official Saudi Arabian news agency, SPA, says the temporary travel ban is in accordance with precautionary measures to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, France, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Pakistan, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UK and US are also on the list.

Diplomats, Saudi citizens, medical practitioners and their families are exempted from the ban.

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • Afternoons with Helen Farmer

    2:00pm - 5:00pm

    Every weekday afternoon, Helen Farmer will help you to navigate the highs and lows of life in the UAE. Stay up to date with what’s happening and where to go.

  • Off Script with Chris, Robbie & Sonal

    5:00pm - 7:00pm

    The UAE’s alternative take on news, entertainment and sport. Join Chris, Robbie and Sonal as they cut through the clutter to bring you the news, entertainment and sport stories that actually matter.


On Dubai Eye

  • Honouring Kian's life

    Goli lost her five-year-old son Kian in a tragic accident on Boxing Day. Today, we honour Kian's memory and send our love to Goli and her family.

  • Combatting COVID-19: Dubai amends travel protocols

    Dubai’s Supreme Committee of Crisis & Disaster Management has announced amendments to travel protocols as part of preventive measures to limit the spread of COVID-19.