Oman bans entry from 10 countries to curb coronavirus spread

iStock (illustration)

Oman will suspend flights from 10 countries for 15 days in a bid to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

That's according to the official Oman news agency, which explained the move is to contain the spread of certain mutated strains.

Sudan, Lebanon, South Africa, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Ethiopia have been listed by the Gulf state's coronavirus committee.

The restrictions will also apply to travellers who've visited any of the listed countries 14 days prior to entering Oman.

The move will come into effect from Thursday.

Omani citizens, diplomats and health workers and their families who all have to undergo the usual approved health procedures governing entry to the Sultanate will be exempt from this rule.

The committee also urged its citizens and residents to avoid international travel unless essential. 

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Business Breakfast

    6:00am - 11:00am

    The Business Breakfast is the day’s must listen for the UAE’s business leaders, and those who aspire to be.

  • Lunch with Lloyd

    11:00am - 2:00pm

    No one knows entertainment better than veteran Dubai broadcaster Mark Lloyd.


On Dubai Eye

  • Meet Gift, female food delivery driver

    Gift came here from Nigeria and failed to find a job, until a pizza company offered her one. She's now one of the very few female delivery drivers in the UAE.


    Farmer's Kitchen is back for 2021!
    With our partners Spinneys, we are going to help you wave goodbye to boring dinners, cluttered fridges, and lumpy leftovers!