Bahrain bans travellers from 4 more African states over COVID concerns

iStock [illustration]

Bahrain has banned entry to travellers from four more African states, increasing the number of banned countries on its red list to 10, due to concerns over the spread of COVID-19.

That's according to the state news agency (BNA), which cited a decision by the country's Civil Aviation Affairs.

The four additional countries are Malawi, Mozambique, Angola and Zambia.

The ban excludes Bahraini citizens and residency visa holders, it said.

Bahrain on Friday banned entry to travellers from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Eswatini.

More from International

Coming Up on Dubai Eye

  • The Night Shift with Mark Lloyd

    8:00pm - 11:00pm

    Musicians and music, entertainers and entertainment, industry gossip and songs selected by you, get ready to bring your night time to life! Every evening from eight, Mark Lloyd brings you an energetic mix of local and international content and contests, featuring an array of celebrity interviews and entertaining anecdotes. Get involved in the show and pick your favourite jukebox hits, every night from 8pm - 11pm.

  • Nights on Dubai Eye 103.8

    11:00pm - 6:00am

    Dubai Eye complements the conversation with the music you love from the eighties, nineties and newer.


On Dubai Eye

  • When Do You Close The Office As COVID Numbers Spike?

    If you've got staff testing positive for COVID, at what point do you temporarily close the office? We speak to the Head of Human Capital for AON, Ray Everett, about when to make the call.

  • Are Your Children Vaccinated?

    Are you considering getting your children vaccinated as COVID-19 cases continue to rise? Helen chats to Dubai mum Jenny who says it's been on her mind.